L'équipe du département de pharmacologie






Université Bordeaux 2 CHU de Bordeaux INSERM
Département Hospitalo-Universitaire de Pharmacologie de Bordeaux

Pr Nicholas Moore, Head of the Pharmacology Department

Pr. Nicholas Moore

Pr Nicholas Moore

Pr Nicholas Moore is MD, PhD, qualified in Cardiology and Pharmacology. His areas of research include drug utilisation and measure of drug exposure, drug safety and especially of low-dose NSAIDs for analgesia, measure of real-life performance of drugs within European and national Risk-Management Plans and Post-Approval Studies.

He was born in New York, USA, did his medical studies in Paris, then trained in Cardiology and Pharmacology in Rouen during which time he became vice-president of the French Association of regional Pharmacovigilance Centres and founded the European Society of Pharmacovigilance. In 1996 and after 12 years working in the department of Pharmacology and Pharmacovigilance of Rouen, he became Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Bordeaux.

Since 2003, Pr Nicholas Moore is the Director of the Department of Pharmacology. This department has over 100 members of staff and is constituted of: Clinical Pharmacology and Pharmacoepidemiology research units, Laboratories for Experimental pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring as well as regional Pharmacovigilance and Pharmacodependence Centres. Pr Nicholas Moore develops fundamental and applied research projects in Phytopharmacology as a team-leader in the Experimental Pharmacology Laboratory.


Pr Nicholas Moore is involved in the advisory group of the EMEA project: "European Network of Centres of Excellence in Pharmacovigilance and Pharmacoepidemiology" (ENCePP).

He is also Head of Clinical Research of the University Hospital of Bordeaux and of the South-West France Inter-Region, member of the Hospital Board, and of the Regional Ethics Committee (DIRC, CPP SOOM3).

He is founder and President of the International Society of Pharmacovigilance (ISoP), vice-chairman of the European Association of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (EACPT), and on the board of directors of the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology (ISPE).

He has been elected Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, Fellow of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology, of the Felow of Chinese Medical Association of Minorities. He is also invited professor of Pharmacology at the Medical University of Xinjiang (China) and the Institute of traditional Uyghur Medicine.

He has co-authored over 300 papers in peer-reviewed journals.