L'équipe du département de pharmacologie

FIELDS

CONTACT

 

 

 

Université Bordeaux 2 CHU de Bordeaux INSERM
Département Hospitalo-Universitaire de Pharmacologie de Bordeaux
fren

Routes of administration of psychoactive substances

Oral
The substance is generally ingested in a pill, capsule or liquide form. It can sometimes be incorporated into a solid food (e.g. a cake containing cannabis). The effects appear with a variable delay, most often between 20 and 30 minutes following ingestion. The oral route of administration is used, for example, for amphetamines, barbiturates, hallucinogenic mushrooms, etc.
Injection

This can be performed either in a vein (intra venous, slamming): the effects appear very rapidly, within 15 to 30 seconds, or in a muscle (intra muscular, muscling) or in a sub-cutaneous tissue (skin poping) and the effects appear within 3 to 5 minutes after injection in the last two cases.

The principal route used by addicts, the others being rather anecdotal. Heroin is classically used in Europe intravenously, but other substances can sometimes be injected: cocaine, amphetamines, etc.
Inhalation

Usually a smoked substance: the delay for effects to appear is very short, between 7 and 10 seconds. This is the case for cannabis, crack, heroin, metamphetamine, etc. Sometimes the substance is simply inhaled: this is the case for nitrate derivatives (poppers), solevents, etc.

Nasal intake, also called sniffing (or snorting): this is the classical route of administration for cocaine, but also sometimes heroin and certain medicines. This mode of use leads, in the case of cocaine, to vasoconstriction that can, for example, lead to cardio-vascular events (myocardial infarct, etc.) and, in the case of chronic use, extensive lesions of the nasal mucous and even perforation.
Sublingual (chewing)
This is a mucosal exposition. The substance is placed, as a bolus, in the mouth against the gums. This is the case for coca leaves, betal nut, khat etc. The delay for effects to appear is between 3 and 5 minutes.
Transcutaneous
Simple contact with the skin. This route of administration is rarely used in the context of abuse, but used therapeutically (e.g.: nicotine, fentanyl, etc.).

L'équipe du département de pharmacologie

DOMAINES

CONTACT

 

 

 

Université Bordeaux 2 CHU de Bordeaux INSERM
Département Hospitalo-Universitaire de Pharmacologie de Bordeaux
fren

Voies d’administration des substances psychoactives

Voie orale
La substance est ingérée généralement sous forme de comprimé, gélule ou de liquide. Elle peut parfois être incorporée dans un aliment solide (ex. gâteau préparé avec du cannabis). Les effets apparaissent avec un délai variable, le plus souvent 20 à 30 mn après l’ingestion. La voie orale est utilisée par exemple pour les amphétamines, les barbituriques, les champignons hallucinogènes, etc.
Injection
Elle se fait soit dans une veine (voie intraveineuse ; slamming) : les effets apparaissent très rapidement, en 15 à 30 secondes, soit dans un muscle (voie intramusculaire ; muscling), soit dans le tissu sous-cutané (voie sous-cutanée ; skin poping) et les effets dans ces deux derniers cas apparaissent dans un délai de 3 à 5 mn après l’injection.
C’est l’injection intraveineuse qui est principalement utilisée par les toxicomanes, les autres voies d’injection étant plutôt anecdotiques. L’héroïne est classiquement utilisée en Europe par voie intraveineuse, mais d’autres produits sont parfois injectés : cocaïne, amphétamines, etc.
Inhalation
Il s’agit le plus souvent d’un produit fumé : le délai d’apparition des effets est très court, de l’ordre de 7 à 10 secondes. C’est le cas par exemple du cannabis, du crack, de l’héroïne, de la métamfétamine, etc. Le produit n’est pas toujours fumé mais parfois simplement respiré : c’est le cas pour les dérivés nitrés (poppers), pour les solvants, etc.
Prise nasale également appelée sniff (snorting) : c’est la voie d’administration classique pour la cocaïne, mais parfois aussi pour l’héroïne, pour certains médicaments. Ce mode d’utilisation entraîne, dans le cas de la cocaïne, une constriction des vaisseaux, ce qui peut par exemple entrainer des accidents cardio-vasculaire (infarctus du myocarde, etc.) et, lors de consommation chronique, des lésions étendues de la muqueuse nasale allant jusqu’à la perforation.
Voie sublinguale (chique)
Il s’agit d’une exposition muqueuse. La drogue est placée, sous forme de boule, dans la bouche contre les gencives. C’est le cas des feuilles de coca, de la noix de bétel, du khat, etc. Le délai d’action est de l’ordre de 3 à 5 mn.
Voie transcutanée
Il s’agit d’un simple contact avec la peau. Ce mode d’administration est peu utilisé dans un contexte d’abus mais est utilisé à des fins thérapeutiques (exemple : nicotine, fentanyl, etc.).